top of page

Sweet Water


Today, My 9 year old cousin Skype called me. After ranting about our parents for some time, She asked me - Didi, What would happen if all oceans turn into sweet water ?

That 9 year old girl had asked a question to which I didn't have an answer.That was a pretty much LOL moment for me.

So here's my answer.

All the ships on the ocean, every single Aircraft carrier, destroyer, Oil tanker, cruise liner, freight liner, yacht, fishing boat and bathtub would immediately sink.

All water sailing vessels are designed and loaded according to the buoyancy of sea water. Since it is salty, it is more dense, and thus more buoyant. Sweet water would make all ships (except for those sparsely loaded) sink. So, a filled oil tanker would go under, but an empty one MAY stay afloat, albeit much lower in the water than before.

Read the famous Archimedes Principle to know more.

On the other hand, it would solve the water crisis and food crisis in the world. So much water for irrigation- Africa and Middle East would turn into a lush forest. It would go a huge way in solving poverty and all other problems that originate from it- terrorism, superstition, dictator-ships etc..

Now the effect on ocean marine life would not be so good.But I do not have much knowledge to predict the effect on sea Mammals, Sea plants and Fish.

I answered her query. But she wasn't happy with my answer. Seriously ? C'mon I worked hard for this question. ;)

- Antaragini

bottom of page